The Conde Library Catalogue
Use the catalogue below (click on the image) to search for books in the Conde Library on your chosen topic. Once you find the book, use the contents and index pages to look for information on your chosen characteristics, eg. art, geography, agriculture.
Online Encyclopedias
The Conde Library subscribes to Encyclopedia Britannica and World Book. These are the full, detailed, referenced versions of the encyclopedias, not what you find through search engines. Access them below to search for your civilisation. Once you're on the page, scroll down to select either Britannica or World Book.
Databases
The Conde Library subscribes to two large databases that contain academic articles on a wide range of topics - JStor and EBSCO. Access them below.
HOT TIP: Use 'advanced search' to set up specific parameters when you're searching.
Ebooks
Use ProQuest EBook Central to search for ebooks on your civilisation:
Google Scholar
In contrast to its parent, Google, Google Scholar focuses solely on the scholarly literature available on the Internet. This is very useful for more academic research. You can access Google Scholar by clicking on the icon below. The following video explains how Google Scholar works.
HOT TIP: If you cannot access the full text of an article you find on Google Scholar freely on the Internet, search for it on databases like JStor and EBSCO.
The State Library of NSW
Members of the State Library can access their extensive digital collection (journals, ebooks, newspapers, etc) for free. Membership is free. Simply click on the icon below to go to the State Library homepage, click on the Menu and select 'Get a Library card' to join. You will be emailed your library card number which will entitle you to access their digital collection.
When researching, it is important to assess the reliability of information as not all information is made equal. You can use the CRAAP method below to assess a source's reliability.
The short video below explains the CRAAP test in a little more detail
