When researching, it is important to assess the reliability of information as not all information is made equal. You can use the CRAAP method below to assess a source's reliability.
The short video below explains the CRAAP test in a little more detail
John Green provides a crash course on assessing sources of information you find on the internet. In this episode John offers some strategies to help you identify credible sources and take into account a source's point of view.
You can search all of these databases and more using the Library Super Search toolbar above
Ebooks
Use ProQuest EBook Central to search for ebooks on your civilisation:
Online Encyclopedias
The Conde Library subscribes to Encyclopedia Britannica and World Book. These are the full, detailed, referenced versions of the encyclopedias, not what you find through search engines. Access them below to search for your civilisation. Once you're on the page, scroll down to select either Britannica or World Book.
Databases
The Conde Library subscribes to two large databases that contain academic articles on a wide range of topics - JStor and EBSCO. Access them below.
HOT TIP: Use 'advanced search' to set up specific parameters when you're searching.
The Conde Library Catalogue
Use the catalogue below (click on the image) to search for books in the Conde Library on your chosen human rights issue.
We encourage you to use a tool like Zotero to:
1. Keep track of your resources
2. Help you with correctly formatting your bibliography
However, Zotero can only be as good as the data entered into it. It is important to check what Zotero is doing to make sure it is pulling in all the information needed for the bibliographic entry and that it also creates a correct bibliography. You can use the sample bibliography below as a guide to check against what Zotero does. You can also use the Library resources from the University of South Australia to look up less common resources to reference.
Zotero is a tool that you can download to assist you store, keep track of and organise your references for citations. It can be used for all refencing styles, including APA. The really useful thing about Zotero is that it captures the data of a source with the click of a button. It then saves that data in your Zotero library and taps into it to automatically create a correct citation.
You need to download the Zotero software to your machine. Please see the screencast below for assistance with this. Please note you need to download both the Zotero program AND the web connector to help you capture the data from electronic resources.
It does take a bit of use to get the hang of Zotero, but once you do, it becomes second-nature and is quite straightforward to use. And as with anything, please check all citations generated by Zotero to ensure there are no problems. Nothing beats the human eye for this kind of crosschecking.
Please note that you need to choose APA for this assignment in your Zotero preferences.
Downloading Zotero (screencast)
How to save a reference to your Zotero library (Screencast)
Managing your Zotero Library and Folders (Screencast)
Creating a bibliography and selecting the right referencing style
