Conde Library: Human Wellbeing: Measuring

Gapminder

DollarStreet In the news people in other cultures seem stranger than they are. We visited 264 families in 50 countries and collected 30,000 photos. We sorted the homes by income, from left to right. See how people really live

OECD

OECD Better Life Index There is more to life than the cold numbers of GDP and economic statistics – This Index allows you to compare well-being across countries, based on 11 topics the OECD has identified as essential, in the areas of material living conditions and quality of life.

Anthesis

What is your ecological footprint? This calculator is for individuals and is based on average national data. For more precise answers and other enquiries, please contact us.

New Economics Foundation

Happy Planet Index The Happy Planet Index measures what matters: sustainable wellbeing for all. It tells us how well nations are doing at achieving long, happy, sustainable lives.

World Mapper

World Mapper Worldmapper is a collection of world maps called cartograms, where territories are resized on each map according to the subject of interest. Our range of maps is continuously extended and updated. Explore the world as you’ve never seen it before!

IWR

Inclusive Wealth Project The inclusive wealth index measures the wealth of nations by carrying out a comprehensive analysis of a country’s productive base. That is, it measures all of the assets from which human well-being is derived, including manufactured, human and natural capital. In this, it measures a nation’s capacity to create and maintain human well-being over time.

Articles

How do we measure well-being Opinions differ on the definition of well-being. Yet there’s a growing consensus that it cannot be reduced to material consumption and that other aspects of life, such as health and good social relations, are essential to being well.
Is poverty measurable? The poverty researcher Martin Ravallion spent decades researching how poverty can be measured and which policies can help us in our fight against poverty. The summary of his work is his monumental book ‘The Economics of Poverty: History, Measurement, and Policy’.

Policy Forum Podcast

EPISODE SUMMARY

If the world is to have any chance of eradicating poverty by 2030, it has to understand it first. This week on Policy Forum Pod, we hear from two leading figures working on the front line of measuring and addressing the problem.

UNDP

Global Human Development Indicators Explore human development data from around the world using the interactive tools below. Data presented here were used in the preparation of the 2019 Human Development Report “Beyond income, beyond averages, beyond today: Inequalities in human development in the 21st century”, released on 9 December 2019.

The World Bank

GDP World Bank Index The World Bank Group is one of the world’s largest sources of funding and knowledge for developing countries. Its five institutions share a commitment to reducing poverty, increasing shared prosperity, and promoting sustainable development.

World Inequality Database

World Inequality Database The World Inequality Database (WID.world) aims to provide open and convenient access to the most extensive available database on the historical evolution of the world distribution of income and wealth, both within countries and between countries.

Quick Links

Search the Library Catalogue
Online Databases This link takes you to the Conde Library's Online Database page with secure access.
Clickview Online Login to Clickview Online using your school network login.
Request a Purchase Click on the link to request a book to be purchased by the library.
Wheelers audio and ebooks
Book a time with a Teacher Librarian

Overdue loans, damaged and lost items

About Our Library

Opening Hours
Monday - Thursday: 7.30am - 6.00pm
Friday : 7.30am - 5.00pm

Contact
Phone: 02 9855 7661
Email: library@pymblelc.nsw.edu.au

Other Libraries

State Library of NSW
Trove The National Library of Australia's Trove database brings together content from Australia's many library, museum, archives, research facilities and other collecting organisations.
Ku-ring-gai Libraries
Hornsby Shire Libraries
Willoughby Libraries Searching the Willoughby Library Catalogue also enables users to access the catalogues of the libraries who are members of the Shorelink network (Willoughby, Manly, Mosman, Lane Cove and North Sydney)
Project Gutenberg Free eBooks.
Shorelink Libraries (via Lane Cove Library)