Elizabeth I

This site contains a heavily hyperlinked biography of Tudor monarch Queen Elizabeth I (1533-1603) an extensive gallery of images that include the queen's signature, and examples of her poetry.

This BBC website provides information about the last Tudor, Queen Elizabeth I. She is considered to be a successful and popular monarch. This website attempts to show what Elizabeth was really like. It examines whether her success was the result of her own skill and judgement or an intuitive grasp of public relations.

A site devoted to Elizabeth I speeches, biography, essays, articles, images and additional sources of information.

An official biography published by the English Royal Family.

This comprehensive site discusses details of the life and achievements of Tudor monarch Queen Elizabeth I (1533-1603) and places her reign into a social context by examining Elizabethan women, church, food, Shakespeare and life in Europe during the period.

The practicalities of Elizabethan court life in Tudor times are described on this site, which discusses the size of the court of Queen Elizabeth I (1533-1603), the monarch's regular progressions throughout England, her royal residences and the expectations placed on courtiers and political advisors.

The BBC Tudors webpage provides links to many aspects of Tudor history. Topics include side Henry VIII and the Reformation, Mary Rose, Elizabeth I, Shakespeare, Daily Life, The Age of Exploration and Art and Architecture.

A collection of primary documents held by the UK National Archives relating to Elizabeth I.

The UK National Portrait Gallery's collection of portraits on Elizabeth I.

An analysis of the symbolism in portraits of Elizabeth I.

Analysis of the Armada Portrait of Elizabeth I.

The official site of the Mary Rose.

A virtual tour of the Mary Rose, created by the BBC.

A look inside the Mary Rose and a number of the artefacts and human remains discovered on it.

This website provides information about life in Tudor England during the reign of Elizabeth I. Topics include: Games, Food, Money, Religion, Language, Weddings, Masters and Servants, Occupations, London, Fashion, Children, etc.

A collection of representations of Elizabeth I on film and TV. Collated by the Royal Museum, Greenwich.

A pictorial representation of Elizabeth I on film.

Comprehensive list of depictions of Elizabeth I on film and TV.

A biography of Mary, Queen of Scots.

An overview of the relationship between the two queens.

A timeline of the relationship between Elizabeth I and Mary, Queen of Scots.

A commentary on the relationship between Elizabeth I and Mary, Queen of Scots.

An article detailing some of the letters exchanged between Elizabeth I and Mary, Queen of Scots.